Day 5: Pied Beauty

This one was a tough one. I am very much a free verse type of gal, so when faced with something like a sonnet, it takes me a bit to get things right. The prompt wasn’t specific about rhyme scheme and it took me a few times to get it figured out. When I looked up examples, ironically, it didn’t help me much since it appears a curtal sonnet can have abcabc dcbdc or abcabc dbcdc. That just hurt my brain for a day or two.

Well, here’s what finally carved itself out of my cranium:

A Curt Response

Constrained by rhyme scheme and line count,
I struggle with a blank page;
How can I create a masterpiece
When the waters can’t freely flow from this fount?
The words are trapped by stony rage,
The frozen stories never at peace.

The format squeezes words that live
And stands them, naked, upon a stage.
My frustration: an exponential increase
As finally my thoughts, forced through a sieve,
End. Cease.

©Lindsey Smith

About PenniCash

A single mother and educator, often tired and on an MMO when able. I think too much, sleep too little, and always hold onto that tomorrow is a fresh day. View all posts by PenniCash

Leave a Reply

